My Mamaw

On August 28th, 2012 my MaMaw passed away in Victoria, Texas.  I wanted to share here, what I shared at her funeral about the legacy she left.  Here is a link to her obituary–> CLICK HERE

From her funeral on 8/31/2012…

“In track and field we celebrate those who run a good race. We celebrate those who cross the finish line.

Multiple times in scripture we find our lives compared to a race.  We find that our purpose on earth as God’s people is to proclaim His praises and press on toward the goal of becoming more like Jesus.

Paul said in Philippians 3:12-14
12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.
13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead,
14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Today we celebrate a woman who ran the race well. Who lived her life as one who wanted to please God and love people.

Many of you know her as Hazel, but I called her Ma Maw.

Mamaw was the definition of love because she was patient and kind.

1 Corinthians 13- 4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant
5 or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;
6 it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.
7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.
8 Love never fails

Mamaw always sought to point out the best in people and never sought to illuminate their flaws.

Mamaw was a great listener

Mamaw was one of the most encouraging people in my life. She always supported the things I wanted to accomplish even my keyboard rap songs, my books and my ministry.  She even told me my rap songs were good… SHE LIED !

Mamaw was an artist. She would take my baseball card magazines and recreate the drawings to make me shirts.

Mamaw was a great cook. Pecan Pie. Egg Noodles. Poached Eggs and adding extra cheese to cheap totinos pizzas were some of my favorites.

Mamaw was a servant. She spent her life walking side by side with PawPaw, loving her family and making sacrifices all along the way.

I am going to close with my favorite Mamaw story. Many times as I was in high school my Mamaw would look at my hair and ask me, “Is your hair getting wavy?”.  That was always a hard question for me to answer.  She would preceed to say,” I am just asking because Donald’s hair was wavy and then it fell out.”  Donald is my father for those who do not know, my bald father.  Was MaMaw saying that my wavy hair was a sign of future baldness?  Turns out that my MaMaw was a profit.  This is the one time I remember my MaMaw not encouraging me 🙂

Today if Mamaw was here she would be able to say this verse with confidence.

2 Timothy 4:7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

Let us celebrate the life of Hazel Halk who ran her race well and crossed the finish line a winner because of her relationship with Jesus Christ.

Praise be to God for Hazel Ruth Jones Halk.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

