Wisdom from Mr. Magorium

 

Well here I am with another installment of the bald man ramblings.  This Sunday night I went to the movie Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium at the dollar theater.  Most of the movie was outlandish, maybe better described as a play-land for people with ADD. 

In spite of that, there was one quote in the movie that really made me think. It was when Mr. Magorium tells Mahoney, “Life is an occasion, rise to it.”  Although his point was about succeeding in a worldly sense, God really spoke to me in that moment.  I took it as we are only here on this Earth but a short time, life is but a vapor or an occasion, and while we are here we should rise to that occasion. 

Rising to the occasion as a Christian is not about succeeding financially or stepping up to lead a business but as Paul says in Philippians 3 that we would be found in Him, know Him, fellowship in His sufferings and lay hold of that which Christ saved us for.

I want to rise to the occasion.  I want to lay hold of that which Christ laid hold of me for.  I want my life to be about knowing Him.  I want to be found in Him.  I want my life to reflect back to Him the glory he deserves.  I want to become all he wants me to become.  I want to reach the goal for which he called me heavenward.  I want to be holy. I want to be like Him.

Philippians 3:12 “Not that I have already obtained it or have already become perfect, but I press on so that I may lay hold of that for which also I was laid hold of by Christ Jesus.”

Next Up: Quotes and discussion from Sam Storms book “One Thing”

6 thoughts on “Wisdom from Mr. Magorium

  1. Quite similar to Dead Poets Society when Robin Williams says to his students, “seize the day.” But it is a common goal for most people, this “living life to the fullest.” If only people knew it wasn’t threw money, fame, a wife, two kids, and a nice car. You know, the whole “American dream.” If the American dream is what life is all about then we wouldn’t have all these celebrity news shows constantly talking about Britney’s crisis, J-lo’s divorce, and Owen’s suicide attempt.
    These people have your American dream. Do you still want it? Jesus was dirt poor, people! Personally, I say f*&^ what our country is telling us is valuable. I think rising to the occasion is rising above these lies and living the way Christ intended us.

    Anyways… you must have triggered something in my brain, Darrell. Great blog. Seriously.

  2. Well stated! Let us rise! By the way, working out has been great. I missed a few days for a trip to NYC with Susan. After we returned Susan went into the hospital for 24 hours becuase she was dehydrated. The baby is fine, she just needed fluids and rest. Anyways, I got to work out agian late last night. It seems like late nights are working best for me right now. I would like to work out together though and to play some basketball, so I can be flexible. How are things?

  3. Dear Darryl,
    I happened upon your blog by accident, having just seen Mr Magorium’s Wonder Emporium. I got the impression from your review that “outlandish” and “a play-land for people with ADD” were not, in your opinion, very good things at all. As a fellow Christian, I would like to remind you that our faith is about miracles and belief- and it is all pretty darn outlandish, from Mary’s Immaculate conception, to Jesus’ resurrection, the great flood and Noah’s ark, Adam and Eve etc. It’s all very much impossible- except that it happened. Because it was magic. Because God can make magical things happen. Outlandish things. You are a Christian because you believe in Jesus Christ. If you were there and then, and you scoffed at the outlandishness of the idea of Jesus as the son of God, you’d be a Jew, not a Christian. The most wonderful and beautiful things in this world have a magic you can feel- like a butterfly or a newborn baby or an incredible sunrise. God, it seems to me, is an incredible and magical artist.
    Please think about that the next time you dismiss something as a “play-land for people with ADD” as if it were worthless. Leonardo DaVinci, Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Benjamin Franklin- just to name a few, all had classic ADD, they were all brilliant, and they all changed the world. Books and films that are magical and whimsical have a tendency to far outlive documentaries- Alice in Wonderland exists in over 30 movie variations and 5,000 print editions. Because it continues to inspire creative minds. The kind of minds that change the world.
    As a youth leader, children look up to you and respect your opinion. If you communicate to them that wonder and magic and belief are worthless, you could very well unknowingly be the force that makes the next DaVinci or Einstein give up on their dreams. I think you must be a good person, and so I took the time to write this to you because I think as a good person, you wouldn’t want to hurt anyone like that.
    God Bless

  4. The ADD comment was very much said in jest, sorry if it was taken as a stab at those with ADD or ADHD. I actually was one of those who is labeled ADHD. So my intent was not to bad mouth those type of students. My point is the bright colors and crazy sequences were enough to keep my attention. I also meant that in spite of the fact that the movie was “all over the place”, like sometimes my mind is, that there was some stuff that made sense and I was able to apply.

  5. Hello,

    Great blog. I’m a fan of MMWE and find most of the movie quotable and worthy of theological reflection. I also like much of what Jeanine posted, but I need to make an important correction to her post. Contrary to popular opinion, the Doctrine of the Immaculate Conception has nothing to do with either the birth of Jesus or the birth of Mary. The Immaculate Conception refers to the belief that the Virgin Mary was born without the stain of Original Sin, which St. Augustine of Hippo held to be passed on through the act of procreation. The birth of Jesus is popularly referred to as Mary’s “Virgin Birth”, but is more properly referred to as the “Doctrine of the Virginal Conception.”

Leave a Reply

