Guess whose back, back again

That’s right blog readers of America, the bald guy is back to share my heart with you.  A verse that has been really speaking to me this week is Philippians 3:3.  In this passage Paul proclaims, ” for we are the true circumcision, who worship in the Spirit of God and glory in Christ Jesus and put no confidence in the flesh.”

This verse hits me for many reasons.  First I think it gives us a clear picture of what a true worshipper looks like.  This is helpful in our discerning process in trying to determine if someone is a false teacher or a true worshipper of God.  This is what the church in Philippa was facing as the Judiazers were teaching false doctrines about salvation and confusing the new Christians.

A true worshipper:

a.) Worships in the Spirit of God

This proclamation is reminiscent for me of the John 4:23-24 passage in which Jesus says that he is seeking out the true worshippers, those who worship Him in spirit and in truth.  True worshippers are filled with God’s Spirit and rely on his direction.  Someone who is labeled as a true worshipper must have evidence of the Holy Spirit’s work in their life.

b.) Gives all glory to Christ

I had a professor in seminary named Gordon Borror who proclaimed that in every breath, thought and action in our life that God’s glory should always be the issue for us.  Someone who is a true worshipper of Christ does not seek fame for his own name, but to make Jesus famous.  I love 1 Peter 2:9b which proclaims we are,”… a people for God’s own possession that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light;”.  Our purpose in existence is to proclaim how awesome Jesus is.  If we come across someone who is proclaiming to be equal or better than Jesus, we can bet they are a false prophet.

c.) Puts no confidence in his own flesh

A true worshipper realizes what the old hymn says, ” Without Him I could do nothing. Without Him I’d surely fail. Without Him I would be drifting, Like a ship without a sail.”  Without Christ I am without hope, and I am utterly powerless.  Without Him, I am truly nothing. He gave me purpose, he adopted me into His family and I have no reason to boast except in what He has done.

Thoughts? 

Leave a Reply

