Cost of Discipleship

 

In reading Shane Claiborne’s book The Irresistible Revolution: Living as an Ordinary Radical, many questions have filled my heart and mind. The question that lingered in my head as I fell asleep last night is what I have I had to sacrifice or lay down for the sake of following Christ? And most importantly what things am I unwilling to lay down for the sake of following Christ? I read as Shane reminds the reader that in many encounters with people, Jesus warned them that the cost of following Him was EVERYTHING; “…everything they had ever hoped for and believed in- their biological families, their possessions, even their very lives.”

He recants if someone looked at the call of Matthew, we would see that his call was to drop everything and follow Christ. Was that the call just for Matthew or is that the call for all of us? Isn’t our call to abandon all our pursuits for the sake of His pursuits and the pursuit of Him? We often define ourselves by the job we do when we should define ourselves by the person we are becoming as we draw near to Christ. Shane shares that he believes if Peter were asked what he was going to do when he grew up he would reply, ” Well I was going to be a fisherman, but then I met this dude and he messed all that up.”

Matthew 16:24-28Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross and follow Me. “For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it; but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. “For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul? “For the Son of Man is going to come in the glory of His Father with His angels, and WILL THEN REPAY EVERY MAN ACCORDING TO HIS DEEDS. “Truly I say to you, there are some of those who are standing here who will not taste death until they see the Son of Man coming in His kingdom.”

Allow me to be honest for a second, there isn’t much I have laid down, maybe career aspirations to be a coach or a probation officer but God has so replaced those desires with the chance to impact students through ministry. I know that serving God is more costly than I have made it. My prayer is that I will become all God desires for me to become and that whatever is lost or must be laid aside will be counted as loss compared to surpassing knowledge of knowing Christ Jesus.

In fear of you Jesus, I desire to follow you regardless of the cost.

3 thoughts on “Cost of Discipleship

  1. Hey, I am glad to see that you are on a WP you made a wise decision. I hope you have fun blogging it is one of the best parts of my walk with God. I do enjoy it.
    Josh
    Hey we need to talk about some Student Evangelism in North Texas

  2. This book has wrecked my life. And the startling and humbling thing is that the Bible should have long before Shane. Man, I would love to talk and pray with you about what the implications are for us, especially as youth ministers.

  3. Josh- when you wanna do lunch? So we can talk student evangelism?

    John- would love to discuss practical application of the book with you. I agree, the book will mess you up royally. Shane definitely made me evaluate what discipleship is and what it means to lose myself so that I might gain Christ.

Leave a Reply

